Zombie Movie Review: Braindead

This film is showing on Netflix Instant US. Visit Blog of the Living Dead for details.

Vector Image for zombie movie Braindead

Vector Image for zombie movie Braindead

 

AKA Dead Alive

Having watched Zombie Holocaust and only rating it 4 for gore, it got me wondering what it would take for a film to actually hit the 5 that all Zombie films should be aspire to. This pondering lasted for ooh, at least 5 seconds, as I realised I had this gem on my shelf just waiting another viewing. Could my memory have decieved me and Braindeads’ gore factor been imagined, or was I right in remembering that it is the benchmark that all splatter is marked against?

Oh how right I was to trust my own opinion – Braindead is fantastic. Although rather slow to start, come 30 minutes and the ridiculous gore comes a-pourin’. Skin is ripped off, dogs devoured whole, priests kick ass (for the lord) against zombie bikers, and numerous limbs and heads go flying.

And how could I forget the intestine-zombie, the zombie baby, the priest:nurse love-in, a tasty pus and ear custard pudding, rat monkeys, and especially the classic lawnmower death.

For a film to get 5\5 from me without a single nork shot must mean it’s fantastic. What else is there to say

Gore 5\5
Norks 0\5
Overall 5\5

4 responses to “Zombie Movie Review: Braindead

  1. Agree about the slow start, but really does ramp up quickly. The scene where he takes the zombie to the park is one of the funniest things I have ever seen, laugh my head off every time : )

  2. I totally admire this film. It’s rare for me to actually feel grossed out by a movie and this one pulls it off. The real-deal special effects are the key. CGI is alright (when done well) but there is nothing like a well played blood/gore gag.

    Dead Alive (Braindead) is what I call old-school cool. A movie that will forever remain a high point in the zombie/horror genre.

    Thanks for the post. Keep up the good work on the blog. It’s a tough job but it takes a demented person to do it right.

  3. Pingback: Feature: Is 28 Days Later a Zombie Movie? | Devouring the Zombie Films of the Living

Seen this zombie movie? What did you think?

